Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Check-It-Out @ ATSM Library Issue 5, 2014: From The
University Librarian

From the University Librarian

As we start a new academic year we, in the Library, welcome new and returning students and faculty for what we hope will be a productive year for you.  In the last academic year the Library introduced Still One Search, our search tool, to enable you to search most of the Library’s resources in a single search.  It supports all levels of inquiry from a single, Google-like search interface to an advanced search page supporting advanced, complex searches.  Please take a few minutes to explore One Search and see what it can do.  It also includes tabs to go to our clinical point of care resources including UpToDate and to a Pubmed Medline search, although the Medline database Pubmed searches is also included in One Search.  Please come by the Library if you have any questions or need instruction in using it as well as our revamped web site.

In addition we added major new online resources over the past year making our collections even stronger and more comprehensive.  Here is a listing of these new resources:

July, 2013

AccessMedicine features many major McGraw-Hill textbooks such as Harrison's Online, Tinitalli's Emergency Medicine, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, Nelson Pediatrics, and Williams Gynecology and Obstetrics. It also includes the Lexicomp Drug database (under Drugs), Case Files, Dx Tests, and Current Practice Guidelines

-
October, 2013

Audio-Digest podcasts provide monthly or bimonthly updates from the latest research in audio format that can be downloaded to your iPod.

The library now subscribes to Audio-Digest podcasts for the following specialty areas - Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Family Practice, Gastroenterology, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Orthopaedics, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Psychology.

July, 2013

The EBSCO E-book collection provides ATSU access more than 138,000 unique e-book titles from theirAcademic, Community Colleges, Public Schools, K-8, High School and Medical collections

October, 2013

MICROMEDEX is a suite of databases offering comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology oriented information for health care professionals and patients

 

July, 2013

 

 


July, 2013

WinkingSkull.com is an anatomy study tool designed to let students study and test yourself on must-know concepts

LWW Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine

This collection contains Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine, Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques, Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine, An Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment, The Pocket Manual of OMT, Somatic Dysfunction in Osteopathic Family Medicine and The 5-Minute Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine Consult

 

  • LWW Health Library Basic Sciences Collection provides online access to titles such as Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy, Grant’s Atlas of Anatomy, Grant’s Dissector, Langman’s Medical Embryology, Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials and many more. The books are accompanied by case descriptions, procedure videos, images, and lecture resources for study preparation.

  • Bates Visual Guide is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific videotapes. Each video shows a step by step examination. What is unique is how well they represent a broad spectrum of ages and cultural backgrounds for both patients and clinicians. This 4th edition includes new information on health history, documentation, communication, and, patient/practitioner interactions.

  • ‚ÄčPsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. It replaces Mental Measurements in the library's collections.

 

As always, if you have any questions, suggestions or need assistance in using or learning to use any Library service or resource please contact me or any of the Library staff and we will be glad to assist you!