Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Check-It-Out @ ATSM Library Issue 1, 2013: Library by
the Numbers

Most Popular Journals in 2012

Listed in descending order of use (Available from our Online Journal List [AZ or MO]

  • Journal of Strength & Conditioning Research
  • New England Journal of Medicine
  • Physical Therapy
  • Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise
  • The American Journal of Sports Medicine
  • The Journal of the American Dental Association
  • Spine
  • American Journal of Public Health
  • British Journal of Sports Medicine
  • Manual Therapy
  • Sports Medicine
  • Strength & Conditioning Journal
  • American Journal of Occupational Therapy
  • Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine
  • JAOA : The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association
  • Pediatrics
  • Journal of Bodywork and Movement Therapies
  • American Journal of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
  • Clinical Biomechanics
  • The Lancet
  • Journal of Athletic Training
  • Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics
  • American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics
  • American Family Physician
  • Academic Medicine
  • Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery

2012 - A Numerical Representation

1,653,352 - (Searches) The library's exclusive, paid resources were searched over a million times with a noticeable increase of activity in the fall.

452,814 - (Sessions)  This number represents the number of times that students or faculty accessed one of our resources, suggesting, at a minimum, three searches for every session.

 

493,270 - Total of all articles, chapters and database units used by the whole of the university population. The University read (well, we assume people still read these days) 209,176 online articles, 166,905 book chapters and 117,189 database components (think UpToDate or any online video the library offers) in 2012.

On average, every person in the university conducted 416 searches, logged 119 database sessions, read 52 journal articles, downloaded 42 book chapters, and used 30 other database units during 2012. (This represents all students, faculty and employees on both campuses.)


154,840 - The library's web site, http://www.atsu.edu/atsmlib, was busy in 2012!  154,840 page visits were racked up during the year. 

5,396 - ILL journal articles were borrowed from other libraries off campus and delivered to our customers with a fill rate of 99.97% within one business day in 2012.


The University Library has several resources that were used extensively.  Below are the most heavily trafficked. There are j
ust part of our extensive online collection waiting for you in 2013.

Database Number of Uses
EBSCO (CINAHL, SPORTDiscus) 236,211
UpToDate 83,711
Ovid 78,018
ClinicalKey 68,332
Stat!Ref 35,809

Check out LexiComp, Anatomy TV, Stat!Ref Dental, Natural Standard, Essential Evidence Plus, Cochrane, Films Online, ExamMaster, just to name a few. 

Most Popular eBooks in 2012

Listed in descending order of use (Available through out catalog [AZ or MO]

  • Pocket Atlas of Pharmacology
  • First Aid for the NBDE Part 1
  • Understanding Global Health
  • CMDT Online
  • Harrison's Online
  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders “ 4th Ed.
  • First Aid for the NBDE Part II
  • ACP PIER & AHFS DI® Essentials
  • Fundamentals of Medical Physiology
  • Palpation Techniques
  • First Aid Q&A for the NBDE Part I
  • First Aid for the COMLEX Second Edition
  • AHFS Drug Information® (2013)
  • First Aid for the Medicine Clerkship Third Edition
  • First Aid for the Basic Sciences: Organ Systems Second Edition
  • Pocket Atlas of Oral Diseases
  • Clinical Tests for the Musculoskeletal System
  • Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology - 6th Ed. (2011)
  • First Aid for the Surgery Clerkship
  • Stedman's Medical Dictionary - 28th Ed. (2006)
  • First Aid for the Obstetrics and Gynecology Clerkship Third Edition
  • Foundations of Clinical Research
  • The Human Body
  • Anatomic Basis of Neurologic Diagnosis
  • First Aid for the Psychiatry Boards
  • Color Atlas of Human Anatomy Vol. II-Internal Organs
  • First Aid for the Pediatrics Clerkship Third Edition
  • Essential Radiology
  • Color Atlas of Physiology
  • Flint: Cummings Otolaryngology: Head & Neck Surgery
  • First Aid for the Pediatric Boards Second Edition
  • Mandell: Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases
  • ACS Surgery: Principles & Practice
  • Ear Nose and Throat Diseases
  • Internal Medicine Essentials for Students: A Companion to MKSAP® for Students 5 (2011)
  • Oxford Textbook of Medicine - 5th Ed. (2010)
  • Fitzpatrick Color Atlas
  • Davis'€™s Drug Guide for Nurses® - 13th Ed. (2013)