Whole Person & Leisure Reading Collection in Kirksville

This informative memoir explores how society dismisses women's pain while trying to better understand their reproductive needs.

Thomas's poignant book explores her life with her husband, who had a traumatic brain injury, and the comfort and camaraderie she finds in her three dogs as she navigates perseverance, love, and grief.

Nussbaum's scholarly memoir examines the joys and difficulties of practicing medicine and provides a personal perspective on how to bring humanity, compassion, and purpose back to the profession.

Verghese explores themes of dread, compassion, and the human cost of the AIDS pandemic while recounting his experiences working as an infectious disease physician in rural Tennessee in the early stages of the epidemic.

Fadiman's memoir is a gripping examination of cultural conflicts in healthcare that tells the tale of a Hmong family and their daughter's battle with epilepsy, caught between Western medical procedures and traditional Hmong beliefs.

Janvier shares her experience of navigating life with a premature baby and the affects that can have on a familly.

Youn and Eisenstock's book is an open and amusing story of the author's journey from a difficult upbringing to becoming a successful plastic surgeon, including personal anecdotes and lessons learnt.

By examining the intricacies, uncertainties, and moral conundrums that surgeons encounter, Gawande illuminates the human side of medicine and the difficulties of practicing an imperfect science.

Gordon's book is a provocative examination of fatphobia that explores the negative effects of fat-shaming and the social stigma associated with body size while promoting better compassion and understanding of various bodies.

This memoir is a compelling and personal book that details the author's fight with breast cancer, offering a deep understanding of living with and beyond cancer while delving into issues of identity and survival.

The motivational memoir Virji and Eisenstock describes the author's experiences as a Muslim doctor in rural America, overcoming discrimination, cultural obstacles, and his attempt to establish relationships and trust in a multicultural community.

Watson reflects on her 20 years of experience as a nurse, and the importance of compassion she has learned through her career.

Tweedy examines the connections between race, identity, and healthcare as Tweedy considers his experiences navigating the medical field as an African American doctor.

Lamas's book is a moving compilation of a doctor's thoughts that provides personal insights into the intricacies of life, death, and the delicate moments in between as they are encountered in the medical field.

Ofri's thoughtful memoir highlights cultural differences, communication limitations, and the profound personal relationships made in the medical field while examining the special difficulties and benefits of practicing medicine with immigrant patients.

In his open and amusing memoir, Leite discusses his experiences with manic depression, family dynamics, and his strong bond with food, love, and identity.

Watts' thoughtful memoir examines the special, intensely personal relationships between physicians and patients while considering the emotional complexities and life-changing events that influence medical practice.

James shares the poignant truth of dental school, while sharing humorous anecdotes from his life.

Scott shares the fierce story of her life, constantly fighting against a system that wasn't made for her to succeed.

Awdish's moving memoir describes her near-death experience as a doctor and her life-changing recovery, highlighting the critical role that empathy, hope, and human connection play in the healing process.

McKnight and Bennington's compelling book details the hepatitis C outbreak brought on by unsafe medical practices, highlighting the terrible outcomes and the struggle for justice in the healthcare system.

Rogers explores the intricacies of Alzheimer's disease by combining scientific knowledge with emotional insights about the author's own experience caring for his wife, Maggie, as she fights the disease.

Edim's memoir is a moving meditation on the transformational power of literature as she describes how books helped her overcome obstacles in life, shape who she is, and find comfort.

Doty explores how the intersection of neuroscience, compassion, and mindfulness can change lives and unlock the potential of the heart and brain, combining personal experiences with scientific insights.

Edelstein shares the story of her life being greatly overturned, and how she had to confront big questions in life.

Walls' memoir is a compelling and poignant story of her unusual and frequently traumatic upbringing, her struggle toward independence and resilience, and her upbringing with neglectful but incredibly creative parents.

By analyzing the medical system's approach to critical care and its effects on patients and families, Zitter's book persuasively argues for a more considerate, compassionate approach to dying.

In her moving book, Cannon examines her experiences as a psychiatrist, the emotional toll of caring for others, her own personal issues, and the effects of mental health on patients and caregivers.

Kerstetter's gripping memoir details his experiences working as a military doctor while negotiating trauma, battle, and the intricate relationships between medicine and war.

This touching and aesthetically appealing memoir chronicles the authors' experiences growing up with an autistic brother and provides insights into acceptance, love, and family dynamics through a combination of text and humorous chapters.

Rehmeyer's gripping memoir details her struggle with chronic fatigue syndrome by fusing her own life with scientific research.

Yip-Williams, who is battling terminal cancer, reflects on her life, mortality, and what it means to live despite death.

This collection of insightful stories originate from a pediatric surgeon who aimed to explore the emotional and physical challenges of treating young patients.

This is a provocative memoir that combines a more general cultural and historical examination of alcoholism, sobriety, and the difficulties of healing with the author's own experience of addiction and recovery.

Sanders makes a perceptive examination of the diagnostic procedure that highlights actual medical riddles as well as the skill of deciphering intricate cases to determine the cause of patients' symptoms.

This book is a gripping account of the life of Henry Molaison, a man who had revolutionary brain surgery to treat epilepsy, and it also solves the intricate personal, ethical, and scientific mysteries surrounding his case.

Leach's compelling historical memoir describes the author's experiences as a rural physician fighting the devastating flu pandemic of 1918, providing a poignant and intimate look at the medical difficulties of the era.

This engrossing memoir details Dr. Guinan's pioneering work in epidemiology, emphasizing her attempts to fight smallpox and AIDS while negotiating the difficulties of being a woman in a male-dominated field.

McCarthy describes the difficulties, victories, and emotional intricacies of a young doctor's first year in the medical field while striking a balance between patient care and personal development.

Harper's memoir is a moving and reflective account of her experiences working as an emergency room doctor that explores the healing potential of vulnerability, resilience, and personal development in the face of trauma and life's obstacles.

Hanna-Attisha details her part in bringing attention to the Flint water crisis and emphasizes the struggle for justice, public health, and community resiliency in the face of environmental injustice.

Tubridy's engrossing book recounts his experiences as a neurologist and includes perceptive and frequently poignant tales about the intricacies of the human condition, patient care, and the brain.

In the closing months of his life, the famous neurologist Oliver Sacks wrote a moving collection of articles in which he reflects on his experiences, his thoughts on death, and his deep appreciation for life, love, and human connection.

After years of training to become a neurosurgeon, Kalanithi got diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer and had to develop a new look on life.

As he describes his experiences as a trauma surgeon and the emotional toll of saving lives, Green's riveting memoir provides an inside look at the demanding, high-stakes setting of an emergency department.

This moving memoir shares personal experiences treating refugees, providing a compelling portrayal of the human cost of migration and the tenacity of those who are trying to improve their lot in life.

Khakpour's book is an honest and unvarnished story of her battle with chronic disease that interweaves her own experiences with identity, health, and the difficulties of living with an invisible illness.

The life and tragic death of Zac Easter, a high school football player who battled the long-term effects of concussions, are examined in Reid Forgrave's moving memoir, emphasizing the risks of football and its effects on players' mental health.

Gay's memoir is a compelling, open examination of the author's connection with her body, trauma, and the intricacies of identity, weight, and self-acceptance.

Tisdale's book is a potent collection of essays that delves into topics of social and personal limits, exploring the intricacies of the human condition via provocative contemplations on death, life, and the intersections of culture and identity.

This memoir explores the challenges and journey of experiencing premature birth, emphasizing the medical, emotional, and familial roles that may surface.

Smarsh explores her upbringing in rural Kansas and the challenges of poverty, class, and the American Dream from the viewpoint of a working-class family.

Bohon's incredibly poignant memoir chronicles her journey through cancer, motherhood, and survival, sharing her experiences of love and resiliency as she deals with her diagnosis and the difficulties of raising a child.

Writing on her experiences as a palliative care physician, Puri's book is a profound and moving memoir that explores the intricacies of end-of-life treatment, human dignity, and what a good death means.

By fusing personal tales with insightful observations about life, death, and the human condition, Holt's memoir is a thoughtful and provocative collection of articles that explores the intricate and frequently emotional reality of practicing internal medicine.

This is a moving and introspective memoir in which the well-known doctor shares his own experience of living with dementia and Parkinson's disease, examining the difficulties of accepting one's own decline while preserving dignity and love.

Thom Van Vleck's honest and moving book explores sorrow, remembering, and personal transformation as it follows the author's emotional journey of love, loss, and healing following the death of his wife.

This gripping memoir highlights the author's personal struggle with a life-altering condition, highlighting themes of resilience and determination.

Sweet's gripping memoir explores the profound human connections and healing potential of medicine in its most compassionate form while detailing the author's experiences working at a historic, vintage hospital.

Sweet makes a careful examination of a more patient-centered, holistic approach to healthcare that promotes slower, more focused treatment that puts the patient's health above temporary medical solutions.