Whole Person & Leisure Reading Collection in Kirksville

This book divides physicians into seven different types and examines the distinctive methods and mindsets that each type contributes to patient care and the medical field.

The cultural and social aspects of alternative medicine are examined in this book, along with how other countries perceive, use, and incorporate these therapeutic modalities into their healthcare systems.
Alternate Genre: Anthropology

This book examines the shortcomings of contemporary medicine in light of aging and terminal illness, highlighting the significance of compassionate treatment, quality of life, and the challenging decisions related to dying.
Alternate Genres: Philosophy, Science

Offering a distinctive viewpoint on music as medicine, this book investigates the healing potential of music by looking at how melody and sound can benefit the body as well as the mind.
Alternate Genres: Music, Psychology

This book highlights the human component of medicine that is sometimes disregarded in clinical settings by examining how doctors' emotions affect their decision-making, interactions with patients, and general practice.
Alternate Genres: Health, Psychology

The communication gap between patients and physicians is examined in this book, along with the ways in which prejudices and misunderstandings might affect patient outcomes and medical care.

By covering important personal finance techniques and wealth-building concepts that are frequently disregarded in medical school, this book bridges the knowledge gap in doctors' education by providing crucial financial advice.
Alternate Genre: Finance

This book highlights the value of good communication in the medical field and provides methods for reducing the distance between patients and physicians in order to foster greater trust, understanding, and better health outcomes.

This book offers a thorough examination of the global pain epidemic, including information on its causes, symptoms, available treatments, and methods for enhancing general well-being and pain control.

Through focused data collection methods, this guide offers medical and osteopathic students thorough tactics and useful advice for successfully preparing for clinical assessment exams and board exams.

In order to improve patient care, cut down on inefficiencies, and rebuild the human bond between physicians and patients, this book explores how artificial intelligence might revolutionize the healthcare industry.
Alternate Genre: Healthcare

This book describes twelve essential strategies used by highly successful medical organizations to spur innovation, enhance patient care, and adjust to the rapidly evolving healthcare environment.

The neglected facets of healthcare are examined in this book, with a focus on how crucial it is to close gaps in care, communication, and policy in order to build a more effective and inclusive system.

This book provides a fact-based, educational introduction to female reproductive anatomy, dispelling popular misconceptions and offering precise medical information regarding the vagina and vulva.
Alternate Genres: Feminism, Health

This book investigates the mental processes that underlie medical judgment, looking at how physicians diagnose patients, interpret symptoms, and deal with the unknowns that come with patient care.
Alternate Genre: Science

This book explores neglected facets of bone maintenance and treatment while delving into the intriguing realm of bone health and revealing the vital function bones play in general well-being.
Alternate Genre: Osteopathic

In order to help future applicants overcome the obstacles and improve their chances of success, this paper provides a thorough analysis of the residency match process, including firsthand accounts and observations from current participants.

This book examines Mark Twain's opinions on medicine, looking at his criticisms of medical procedures and his use of satire, humor, and personal tales to address health-related topics.

This book questions conventional wisdom about aging and promotes a reimagined method of elder care that places an emphasis on respect, self-determination, and the possibility of a happy later life.

This book highlights the negative impacts of subpar medical practices and research on women's health by exposing the systematic biases and flaws in healthcare that result in women being frequently ignored, misdiagnosed, and receiving subpar treatment.
Alternate Genre: Science

With an emphasis on how belief and perception can affect health outcomes and aid in healing, this book explores the psychological and physiological consequences of alternative medicine.

Medical students can increase their chances of admittance by using this guide's insightful advice and practical tips to make a strong impression and ace residency interviews.

This book examines the ways in which accepting vulnerability in medical practice and education can promote empathy, increase patient care, and improve healthcare workers' well-being.
Alternate Genre: Philosophy

This book offers a thorough history and examination of osteopathic medicine in the US, emphasizing its tenets, methods, and the contributions made by osteopathic physicians to the medical community.

This book provides a thorough visual aid for medical students, organizing important ideas and facts about different clinical specialties using mind maps to facilitate learning and memory.

Through a combination of structural issues, medical procedures, and financial incentives, this book exposes the ways in which the American healthcare system frequently fails patients, especially those with chronic diseases.
Alternate Genres: Health, Politics

This document offers support, understanding, and direction for people dealing with mental health issues in the medical field in response to letters from doctors who are thinking of taking their own lives.
Alternate Genre: Psychology

This book offers a thorough introduction to medicinal marijuana, examining its possible health advantages, hazards, and the legal and medical issues related to its application in treatment.
Alternate Genre: Health

Stepansky addresses the relationships between doctors and patients, along with the issues of caregiver fatigue.

This book examines the relationship between art and medicine, demonstrating how medical images have traditionally portrayed illnesses and advanced knowledge of the human body and its conditions.

In addition to providing information on how to diagnose and cure tongue-tie, a disorder brought on by a tight frenulum, this text examines the effects of the condition on speech, eating, nursing, and other areas of health.

This book explores the potential benefits and drawbacks of telemedicine, electronic medical records, and other advancements in contemporary medical practice as they relate to healthcare.

By examining how developing empathy and self-awareness improves healthcare practice and creates a stronger bond with patients, this book considers the relationship between medicine and mindfulness.
Alternate Genre: Science

In order to offer light on traditional healing techniques and their importance in preserving physical health within the community, this book examines the ancient Maya practice of bone-setting.
Alternate Genre: Healthcare

The necessity of listening to both the medical and personal sides of treatment is emphasized in this text, which examines the priceless lessons that patients teach physicians, especially through the comprehension and diagnosis of heart murmurs.
Alternate Genre: Short Stories

Based on the author's experiences working in the medical sector, this book offers a collection of perceptive "laws" that provide insights into the human aspects, complexity, and uncertainties that are inherent in the practice of medicine.
Alternate Genre: Science

O'Sullivan reflects on her personal experiences with diagnosing individuals with psychosomatic disorders.
Alternate Genres: Psychology, Science

This anthology showcases the changing nature of rural medicine in the U.S.

This piece calls for a radical change in the healthcare industry, pushing for a system that prioritizes patient dignity, empathy, and careful treatment over effectiveness and financial gain.
Alternate Genre: Personal Essays

This book examines the phenomena of medical reversal, in which previously believed procedures or treatments turn out to be detrimental or unsuccessful, and it promotes methods to avoid such mistakes and enhance patient results.

This manual provides useful tips and efficient techniques to help medical students deal with the demands of medical school while achieving academic success and leading balanced lives.

This book explores the disparities between the worries of the wealthy and the challenges of the underprivileged in global health, providing a firsthand account of the author's experiences at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Alternate Genre: Politics

In order to ensure clear understanding, active engagement, and improved health outcomes during medical appointments, this book offers people helpful suggestions on how to interact with their doctors.