LibGuides: Public Health: Core Resources

Public Health Research Sources

Canadian Best Practices Portal : Public Health Agency of Canada

CDC Community Health Improvement Navigator Database of Interventions This link opens in a new window

Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews (DoPHER) This link opens in a new window
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window

Health Services Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) This link opens in a new window

These resources offer health information and handouts for the general public.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Linked to ATSU's full-text subscription journals when access via this link. Includes access to PubMed Central, which is fulltext and open access.

Databases

e-Books & References

Evaluating Research in Academic Journals-6th Ed by Fred Pyrczak
ISBN: 9781936523344
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Research Synthesis & Meta-Analysis, 2 Ed by Cooper; Hedges; Valentine
ISBN: 9780871541635
Publication Date: 2009
Health Promotion and Education Research Methods by Cottrell; McKenzie
ISBN: 9780763775070
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction to Health Research Methods by Jacobsen
ISBN: 9781284197563
Publication Date: 2020
A Practical Approach to Using Statistics in Health Research by Mackridge; Rowe
ISBN: 9781119383628
Publication Date: 2018
Qualitative Methods in Public Health by Tolley;Ulin; Mack; Succop; Robinson
ISBN: 9781118834503
Publication Date: 2016
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Lisa M. Given (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412941631
Publication Date: 2008
Understanding Research Methods-9th Ed by Mildred L. Patten
ISBN: 9781936523177
Publication Date: 2014

Special Topics : Public Health

Key Books

Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice by B. Burt Gerstman
ISBN: 9781284025460
Publication Date: 2014
Biostatistics : The Bare Essentials by Bluestone, et al
ISBN: 9781607951780
Publication Date: 2014
Using and Interpreting Statistics in the Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences by Wagner; Gillespie
ISBN: 9781526402493
Publication Date: 2018

Key Journals

Biometrics
ISSN: 0006-341X
SJR: 2.301
Statistics in Medicine
0277-6715
SJR: 2.047

More Biostatistics journals

Key Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Linked to ATSU's full-text subscription journals when access via this link. Includes access to PubMed Central, which is fulltext and open access.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window

Data Sources

See Data & Statistical Sources subpage

Key Books

Epidemiology 101 by Friis
ISBN: 9781284107852
Publication Date: 2017
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by Aschengrau; Seage
ISBN: 9781284128352
Publication Date: 2020
Gordis Epidemiology by David D. Celentano; Moyses Szklo
ISBN: 9780323552295
Publication Date: 2018

Key Journals

Epidemiologic Reviews
ISSN: 0193-936X
SJR: 3.378
International Journal of Epidemiology
ISSN: 0300-5771
SJR: 4.187
MMWR: Morbidity and mortality weekly report
ISSN: 0149-2195
SJR: 7.695

More Epidemiology journals

Key Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Linked to ATSU's full-text subscription journals when access via this link. Includes access to PubMed Central, which is fulltext and open access.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window
Still OneSearch This link opens in a new window

Key Books

Essentials of Health Policy and Law (3rd Ed.) by Joel B. Teitelbaum; Sara E. Wilensky
ISBN: 9781284087543
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Health Policy by Thomas Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach
ISBN: 9781259584756
Publication Date: 2016
7th edition eBook

Key Journals

Health Affairs
ISSN: 1544-5208
SJR: 4.381
Health Policy
ISSN: 0168-8510
SJR: 1.275

More Health Policy journals

Key Databases

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new window
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Linked to ATSU's full-text subscription journals when access via this link. Includes access to PubMed Central, which is fulltext and open access.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window

Key Books

Health Behavior Theory for Public Health by Ralph J. DiClemente; Laura F. Salazar; Richard A. Crosby
ISBN: 9781284129885
Publication Date: 2018
Health Equity by Smalley (Ed); Warren (Ed); Fernandez (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780826177230
Publication Date: 2020

Key Journals

Health: An Interdisciplinary Journal for the Social Study of Health, Illness and Medicine
ISSN: 1363-4593
SJR: 0.713
Sociological Methods & Research
ISSN: 0049-1241
SJR: 3.035

More Social Sciences & Behavioral Sciences journals

Key Databases

Key e-Books

Inequality and African-American Health by Shirley A. Hill
ISBN: 9781447322832
Publication Date: 2017
Lgbt Health by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826133779
Publication Date: 2018
Public Health Ethics and Social Determinants of Health by Daniel S. Goldberg
ISBN: 9783319513478
Publication Date: 2018

Key Journals

Demography
ISSN: 1533-7790
SJR: 2.791
Ethnicity & Health
ISSN: 1355-7858
SJR: 0.741
Gender & Society
ISSN: 0891-2432
SJR: 2.384
Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities
ISSN: 2197-3792
SJR: 0.593

Key Resources

Special Topics : Education

Key e-Books

Databases

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window

Key Books

Basic Biostatistics: Statistics for Public Health Practice by B. Burt Gerstman
ISBN: 9781284025460
Publication Date: 2014
Biostatistics : The Bare Essentials by Bluestone, et al
ISBN: 9781607951780
Publication Date: 2014
Using and Interpreting Statistics in the Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences by Wagner; Gillespie
ISBN: 9781526402493
Publication Date: 2018

Key Journals

Biometrics
ISSN: 0006-341X
SJR: 2.301
Statistics in Medicine
0277-6715
SJR: 2.047

More Biostatistics journals

Key Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Linked to ATSU's full-text subscription journals when access via this link. Includes access to PubMed Central, which is fulltext and open access.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window

Data Sources

See Data & Statistical Sources subpage

Key e-Books

Inequality and African-American Health by Shirley A. Hill
ISBN: 9781447322832
Publication Date: 2017
Lgbt Health by K. Bryant Smalley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826133779
Publication Date: 2018
Public Health Ethics and Social Determinants of Health by Daniel S. Goldberg
ISBN: 9783319513478
Publication Date: 2018

Key Journals

Demography
ISSN: 1533-7790
SJR: 2.791
Ethnicity & Health
ISSN: 1355-7858
SJR: 0.741
Gender & Society
ISSN: 0891-2432
SJR: 2.384
Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities
ISSN: 2197-3792
SJR: 0.593

Key Resources

Key Books

Essentials of Health Policy and Law (3rd Ed.) by Joel B. Teitelbaum; Sara E. Wilensky
ISBN: 9781284087543
Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Health Policy by Thomas Bodenheimer; Kevin Grumbach
*Required*
ATRN 8130: Healthcare Policy and Law

7th edition eBook

Key Journals

Health Affairs
ISSN: 1544-5208
SJR: 4.381
Health Policy
ISSN: 0168-8510
SJR: 1.275

More Health Policy journals

Key Databases

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new window
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Linked to ATSU's full-text subscription journals when access via this link. Includes access to PubMed Central, which is fulltext and open access.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new window

Key Books

Health Behavior Theory for Public Health by Ralph J. DiClemente; Laura F. Salazar; Richard A. Crosby
ISBN: 9781284129885
Publication Date: 2018
Health Equity by Smalley (Ed); Warren (Ed); Fernandez (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780826177230
Publication Date: 2020

Key Journals

Health: An Interdisciplinary Journal for the Social Study of Health, Illness and Medicine
ISSN: 1363-4593
SJR: 0.713
Sociological Methods & Research
ISSN: 0049-1241
SJR: 3.035

More Social Sciences & Behavioral Sciences journals

Key Databases

How to Do Library Research

ATSU Library Research FAQ

Short descriptions and instructions for using the A.T. Still Memorial Library's online resources

How to find full-text articles for a known citation or abstract:

Search for the journal title in the A-Z list
- Do not include the article title
If the Library does not have the journal or journal year that you need, request it via Interlibrary Loan
- The Library will try to get it for you for free from another library
- It will typically take between 2-5 business days

Health Sciences Library Liaison

Maud Mundava

Email Me

Contact:

660-626-2340