As the SOMA Librarian, I am here to assist you with all your library needs. I provide a wide range of support for faculty and staff, in terms of research and teaching. This is not an exhaustive list, but only some ideas of how a Librarian assists. You may also send your students to me for help.
Services for Faculty & Staff
|Ficus Tech Lab||Library Purchases|
|Create a custom LibGuide|
|Article requests for difficult to find citations|
Services for students
Literature search requests can be sent via email to firstname.lastname@example.org. You may request literature for a research project, an idea to improve medical education, or to see what new literature is out there.
When requesting a literature search, helpful information to include is:
A list of relevant articles are sent to you for review. If you feel the articles are off topic, you may request a revised search request in a new topic area.
You may also request the full text of articles listed, by providing the title or record number of the results.
Journal recommendations can be requested via email to email@example.com. The journal recommendations will be titles for you to consider for publishing.
When requesting journal recommendations, helpful information to include is:
I will send you a list of about 5 journals to review. The method for finding relevant publications begins with a search for articles that are similar in nature. Journal ranking lists and the NLM catalog is also reviewed for relevant publication titles.
Depending on the availably of information, you will receive:
If you receive an email asking for you to publish in a journal, be an editor, or attend a conference that seems suspicious, it may be predatory publishing. You may forward the email to your Liaison Librarian to review if the email is legitimate or not.
To evaluate the journal or conference yourself, use our Predatory Publishing Guide for assistance.
Recommending Library Content
The Library has a large online collection of books, videos, apps, and more. It can be overwhelming if you do not know where to begin. Your Liaison Librarian can save you time by recommending library content. Your request should include the type of information needed, and what format it should be. You will receive a list of resources, with the proper link formatting that you can easily embed into your course.
Embedding Library Content
Library resources need to be formatted a specific way to ensure access. You can not use the URL you see in your browse and copy/paste that into your course material. For assistance properly formatting the links, contact your Liaison Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Reserve collection is built with the reading lists in each program. Your Liaison Librarian reviews the new list each year to verify we provide access to all texts, either electronically or in print. You may add print books to the collection for students to use by bringing a copy to the library front desk and asking for it to be put on reserve. You may leave the book for the entire term or for a specific length of time.
While Librarians are not copyright experts and cannot offer legal advice, we can provide some guidance on copyright and fair use. Send copyright questions via email to email@example.com with what you wish to use and how you will use it. Library resources are considered Fair Use for course readings and reserves.
Custom tutorials can be created to embed into course material. You may request tutorials to be written or as a video. Tutorials can be on how to find certain types of information, how to get started and use a specific resource, or helpful information students will need to complete an assignment.
A Library session can be requested for students before an assignment, in the beginning of the term, or before a major exam. The session can be in person or as a webinar.
Sessions taught in the past include:
Access issues can occur with library resources due to the size of our collection and the various resources we use. For help, you can email your Liaison Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org or the Electronic Resource Librarian Lora Hanson at email@example.com
Technical issues are reported through the Resource Status twitter page, found on the Library Homepage.
If you can not access the full text of an eBook, please let us know. The book may have been removed from our collection by mistake, or it could be a platform issue.
Article full text
If you can not access the full text of an article, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. You will either receive the full text or the article will be requested on your behalf.
You may also use the Report a Broken Link option in Still OneSearch. This will notify the Library, and the full text will be sent to you ASAP.
Common issues and fixes
Access to the UpToDate app stops working.
If you are off campus, start at the ATSU portal and go to the library website.
2. Click on our Database page
3. Under Popular & Core Databases, click on UpToDate
Purchase requests can be sent via email to email@example.com. Library staff will review and make a decision on whether to purchase or not. Decisions are based on availability, cost, and a positive impact on our collection.
Helpful information to include in the request:
|Data Life Cycle||Research Data Management Needs||Librarian's Role|
|Plan||Research Data Management Plan||
Assist in writing data management plan (DMP)
Locate data sets to reanalyze for research
|Assure||Data Quality Control||
Assist with naming conventions and data formatting
|Describe||Documentation and Metadata||
Locate relative metadata standards for research project
|Preserve||Preservation plans for data||Locate a data repository to preserve data
Upload Data sets to a repository
Provide guidance on funder or publisher's repository requirements
Assist in making data sets more discoverable in repository
Offer Best Practices for Storage and Back ups
Create a doi or persistent id for discoverability
|Integrate||Integrate multiple data sets||Assist in Documentation to explain how multiple files fit together|
|Analyze||Convert an observation from a derived data product||
Assist in documentation or planning for data analyzation
LibGuides are internal facing websites you can use for courses, research, or overview information. To request a custom LibGuide, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
The LibGuide will be created for you. You will also receive an account if you do not already have one. You will be trained on the basics of LibGuides, such as how to add different types of content and how to set up the layout. You may assign multiple people to be editors of a specific LibGuide.
Article requests for a difficult to find citation can be sent to your Liaison Librarian at email@example.com. We have a large network of libraries to contact and locate a copy for you to borrow.