Skip to Main Content
☰ ATSU Navigation
 

E-Book Support

EBSCO

Collection Description Ebsco's collection contains over 160,000 multi-subject titles across the academic spectrum of which 2000 are clinical medicine.  The majority of titles are unlimited user titles, but many medical titles have only 1-3 seats.  Still OneSearch entries indicate the number of seats.
Most Important Books  
PDF Downloads Yes, can download a specific number of pages as a PDF varying by book.  Physical download of eBook requires Adobe Digital Editions to read items offline. An separate Ebsco and Adobe account to download an ebook. Instructions here.
# of Seats per Book Most, check Still OneSearch for number of seats.
Printing Yes, but each book's printing limit is different
Special Features eBook app for iPad and Android

Ebsco e-Book Instructions

This collection provides the full-text of thousands of recently published eBook and audiobooks from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.

  • Up to 100 sequential pages may be emailed or printed as a PDF per day.
  • Some e-books may be downloaded for four-hour periods - these are marked.
  • Downloading or saving e-books requires creation of a free personal Ebsco account
  • Ebsco Reader App available for iOS, Android, and Kindle
  • Number of simultaneous users varies by title/resource
  • Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle
  • Checkout period: 1-4 hours

Mac users may need to install the Schubert PDF Browser Plug-in to enable you to read full-text PDFs online. This plug-in is for Firefox only, and will not work with Safari

If each page of the e-book opens in a separate Adobe Reader window while browsing an e-book online, you can follow these steps to correct the appropriate setting in Adobe Reader:

1.     Click the Edit menu in the toolbar at the top of Adobe Reader.

2.     Select "Preferences" from the drop-down menu.

3.     Select "Internet" from the sub-menu on the left.

4.     Mark the check box next to "Display PDF in Browser."

5.     Click OK

App available for mobile devices.