Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

Database & Resource Help

Tutorials & information for ATSU's subscribed online resources

What is Still OneSearch

Still OneSearch is what we call a 'discovery service'. It's named as such because when you perform a search it 'discovers' resources from multiple places. In Still OneSearch you will find search results like databases, journals, articles, videos, and physical and online books, and you'll even see articles and books we can order for you.

This page provides an overview of OneSearch's features and has two tutorial videos about OneSearch. The first video introduces the basics of searching in OneSearch and goes over its features. The second video goes in-depth into how to use OneSearch's advanced search features, which you will need to use when using OneSearch for comprehensive literature searching.

For more information on searching more generally, check out the Search Strategies tab in the navigation menu.

Why Still OneSearch? Accessibility, One-Stop Shopping, Less Errors, Built-in ILL, Save your Research

When Should I Use Still OneSearch v. A Regular Database?

There is a good chance you are already familiar with biomedical databases such as PubMed or CINAHL. You may be wondering when you should use these databases v. when you should use Still OneSearch.

Still OneSearch, as it pulls data from many different databases, is a much wider and more comprehensive search than any one database would be on its own. This makes it ideal for:

  • getting a wide view of the research literature without having to run many searches in different databases
  • doing literature reviews
  • finding gray literature such as newspaper articles, trade publications, theses/dissertations, and conference materials
  • searching the library's catalog of books alongside the research literature

Single databases, on the other hand, focus on doing one thing well. This can make them ideal for:

  • searching just for peer-reviewed research articles
  • searching for research in a particular field
    • using discipline-specific databases such as CINAHL or SportsDISCUS
  • searching with more tailored search options and narrower search results

Note that for systematic reviews, you will always want to use individual databases, and not aggregators such as Still OneSearch. This is because systematic reviews are a scientific process, and must therefore be reproducible. In theory, any researcher with access to the internet can replicate and verify the results of your search in PubMed. In contrast, only another researcher at ATSU could replicate your search results in OneSearch, as it is unique to ATSU.

Basic OneSearch Searches and Features

This video introduces Still OneSearch, the main search database used by the A.T. Still Memorial Library. This video shows how to do a simple keyword search in OneSearch and narrow down your results to peer-reviewed research articles. This video also shows you how to view your search results and goes over some of the features of OneSearch, including how to export your search results to a citation manager.

Advanced Search in Still OneSearch

This video introduces the advanced search filters of Still OneSearch, the search database used by the A.T. Still Memorial Library. In addition, this video covers boolean searching and using search limiters, as they apply to comprehensive literature searching.

ILL in Still OneSearch

Screenshot of a blue "Request this item through interlibrary loan" link below an article result in Still OneSearch

When searching in Still OneSearch, you may encounter articles that the library does not have. Simply click on the Request this item through interlibrary loan link shown above, and a form will auto-populate with the article's information. Just fill out your contact information and send the form, and library staff will get the article for you. ILL requests are typically filled in less than 2 days.

Note: Avoid using the Full Text or Available in Library Collection checkboxes in Still OneSearch, this will exclude many articles that the library can still provide you for free through interlibrary loan.

Reporting Broken Links in Still OneSearch

Screenshot showing a "Report a Broken Link" link underneath an article result in Still OneSearch

When using Still OneSearch, it is possible that you can click on the Full Text link only to encounter an error and not be able to obtain the article. While this is rare, it is always possible as the technology behind the various systems that comprise OneSearch are not flawless. If this happens, click on the Report A Broken Link button and fill out your contact information. This will ensure library staff is able to fix the issue and send you the article you need.