Topics include, but are not limited to: migration and integration in relation to citizenship, national identity, refugee and asylum policy, social movements (pro and anti-immigration), gender, racialization, whiteness, ethnic and religious diversity and (post)colonialism.
Sociology of Race and Ethnicity
The official journal of ASA’s Section for Racial and Ethnic Minorities, Sociology of Race and Ethnicity publishes the highest quality, cutting-edge sociological research on race and ethnicity regardless of epistemological, methodological, or theoretical orientation.
Journal of Multicultural Counseling
Contains articles on the many aspects of multilingualism & multiculturalism; aims to range widely in all ways covering, for example, contributions to theory, reports of research studies, descriptions of educational policies & systems, etc.
Articles and book reviews for readers interested in the sociological issues of race and the third world.
Presents the distinct nature & health-care needs of the multi-cultural patient with original research.
More journals on Race and Ethnicity:
Focuses on questions of ethnicity, nationalism and related issues such as identity politics and minority rights.
Provides a comprehensive source of information on the causal relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease.
Original articles about the health and welfare of ethnic communities and also of refugees.
Presents research on the immigrant & ethnic history of the North American people; migration, adjustment & assimilation, group relations, politics, culture & group identity; for members of the Immigration History Society.
Contains research on all forms of migration & its consequences.
Journal of Genocide Research is a cross-disciplinary journal that promotes the scholarly study of genocide and related phenomena, like crimes against humanity, war crimes, and violence against civilians.
Devoted to the investigation of politics, economics, education, history, literature, and sociology of Muslim minorities throughout the world.
Efforts to explore underlying causes of health disparities and to describe interventions that have been undertaken to address racial and ethnic health disparities are featured.
Concerned with the influence of culture on nursing practice and the delivery of health care.
A forum for exploring the historical roots and contemporary varieties of prejudice. Coverage of the language and construction of race, nation, color and ethnicity, as well as the linkages between these categories.
Race and Social Problems (RASP) provides a multidisciplinary forum for issues germane to race and its enduring relationship to psychological, socioeconomic, political, and cultural problems.
An interdisciplinary and international forum for theorizing issues at the interface of social identities in the context of the transforming political economies and cultures of postmodern and postcolonial societies.
Devoted to the study of ethnicity, immigration, inter-group relations and the history and cultural life of ethnic groups in Canada.
Publishes essays on African American literature, art and culture. Contains interviews, fiction and poems.
Presents African-American essays on a broad range of issues of concern to scholars in sociology, history, literature, political science, health, art, women's studies and ethnic studies.
Journal of African American Studies
Serves as a multidisciplinary forum for social scientists engaged in the analysis of the struggles and triumps of black males. Challenges stereotypes and identifies strategies and policies that can counter the problems black men face.
Articles, review articles and book reviews focusing on psychology and understanding experiences and behavior of Black populations.
Articles containing full analytical discussion of economic, political, sociological, historical, literary and philosophical issues related to persons of African descent.
More African-American/Black Journals:
Provides a forum for the articulation and expression of issues of faith among Black people in Britain.
Significant research conducted on the progress of black education; professional education as well as social sciences, physical and natural sciences, the arts and technology concerned with the successes, virtues and problems of black education.
Devoted to the examination of issues related to the economic status of black and Third World peoples; inequality in economic status and opportunity, role of public and private policies in economic inequality and its ultimate eradication.
Provides a critical forum for the examination of African & diasporic expressions, representations & identities.
Devoted to the study of African anthropology, history, linguistics & other related fields.
Contains articles about ethnic groups & ethnic relations in the half of the world where questions of ethnicity now loom largest.
Asian Social Work and Policy Review
Seeks to encourage exchanges of original ideas, rigorous analysis of experiences, innovative practice methods founded on local knowledge and skills of problem solving in the areas of social work and social policy between various countries in Asia.
Multidisciplinary journal aimed at researchers and practitioners of Asian Medicine in Asia as well as in Western countries.
Asian Journal of Social Psychology
Covers all aspects of social processes such as development, cognition, personality, health, counselling, organisation and education in Asia.
ANTYAJAA: Indian Journal of Women and Social Change
Aims to explore inequality and social change from the point of view of the most marginalized female who experiences poverty, race, ethnicity, religion, caste - all within the overarching experience of gender.
Articles and viewpoints from around the world which contribute to feminist knowledge, theory, consciousness, action, and debate.
Gender studies in anthropology, economics, history, political science, sociology, and social psychology that are framed by a social analysis and a feminist perspective.
Peer reviewed articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similiarities & differences in socialization, personality, & behavior; & on the changing roles of women around the world.
Concerned with current theoretical perspectives within gender studies, including feminism, queer theory and multiculturalism.
Interdisciplinary journal publishing articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective.
More journals on Gender Studies:
Covers women in the workforce.
The journal focuses, among other issues, on violence as a phenomenon, the social organisation of the family, the invisibility of women's work, institutional and policy analyses, women and politics, and motherhood and child care.
Addresses all needs of men's health. Intended for teachers, students, & professionals involved in the behavioral & social sciences, health sciences, medicine & public health examining men's health issues in the broadest sense.
Presents articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities.
Studies in Gender and Sexuality
Provides new research & studies in gender & sexuality.
Presents clinical and research progress developments in the area of sexuality as it relates to a wide range of physical and mental illness and disabling conditions.
Covers issues of culture, health & sexuality on the national & international level.
Presents articles, review articles and commentary on a wide variety of issues involved in the scientific study of sexuality.
More journals on Sexuality:
Peer reviewed articles for professionals in the fields of family planning, population studies & maternal & child health on a variety of subjects including contraceptive practice & research, adolescent pregnancy, abortion & legal issues.
Publishes quantitative and qualitative psychological research on sexualities. The journal will advance knowledge and understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues in psychology and allied disciplines.
Original research articles, theoretical manuscripts and critical reviews concerned with the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, perceptions, and attitudes.
Acts as a forum for analysis of ethical, cultural, social, & political issues related to sexual relationships & sexual behavior.
Sexuality Research and Social Policy is an international forum for the publication of original peer-reviewed state-of-the-art empirical research on sexuality, theoretical and methodological discussions, and the implications of this evidence for policies across the globe regarding sexual health, sexuality education, and sexual rights in diverse communities.
For women in higher education whose mission is to enlighten, encourage, empower, and enrage women on campus to win acceptance of women's styles and values improving higher education and society.
Articles, review articles, poetry, short fiction, film and book reviews of scholarship and criticism about women in the fields of literature, history, art, sociology, law, political science, economics, anthropology and the sciences.
Health Care for Women International
Provides an interdisciplinary approach to health care and related topics that concern women. Focuses on the newest theories, skills, and procedures. Covers nursing, health care, psychology, sociology, & anthropology.
Original articles and book reviews about women and aging. Multidisciplinary approach to psychosocial practice and theory issues for professionals.
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
More journals on Women's Studies:
Provides an international, interdisciplinary academic forum for the innovative work being done in the many areas of research that comprise the field of Jewish women's & gender studies. Includes articles on literature, text studies, anthropology, theo
Articles germane to the psychology of women, including sex-related comparisons, psychobiological factors, sexuality, social and cognitive processes, career choice and training, discrimination, harassment and violence and psychological distress.
SJWS promotes the development of a common ground for all scientists - female and male scientists - to demonstrate their ability and individuality with the ultimate goal of advancing world peace.
Publishes transdisciplinary scholarship and discussion in hte fields of feminist research and women's studies courses.
Covers all aspects of women's healthcare including gynecology, obstetrics, and breast cancer.
Concerned with the complex theoretical and empirical relationship between women and the particular, and diverse, context of Europe.
The major women's studies journal in Britain including articles on contemporary feminist analysis, changing political issues and book reviews.
International Journal of Mental Health
Features articles on research, clinical practice, and the organization and delivery of mental health services around the world.
Journal of Creativity in Mental Health
This refereed journal examines the practical applications of using creativity to help deepen self-awareness and build healthy relationships. This journal also explores how creative, diverse, and relational therapeautic approaches can be used in counseling practice.
Journal of Intellectual Disabilities and Offending Behaviour
Relevant for everyone involved in researching or supporting people with intellectual disabilities who are involved with the criminal justice or forensic health systems.
Covers personal losses relating to family, health & aging issues. Highlights common as well as differing impacts of major losses, while revealing commonalities between the varous healing processes.
Journal of Mental Health Counseling
Devoted to traditional data-based research. Addresses concerns of mental health counselors in private practice, community agencies, business and industry, and rehabilitation who deal with issues such as family counseling and substance abuse.
More journals on Mental Health and Disabilities:
Mental Health and Social Inclusion (MHSI) is primarily written by practitioners for practitioners working to promote the social inclusion of people with mental health conditions.
For mental health professionals. Articles from leading figures in the field offer readers a medium between policy issues & innovative practices.
An international peer-reviewed journal aiming to disseminate innovative, high quality, social research on disability, which enables critical reflection on the position of people with disabilities in different societal contexts.
Provides a forum for the sharing of information on good practice and advances in the rehabilitation, treatment and care of people who have neurological conditions.
Society and Mental Health (SMH) publishes original and innovative peer-reviewed research and theory articles that link social structure and sociocultural processes with mental health and illness in society.
Autism & Developmental Language Impairments
peer-reviewed, open access journal, which focusses on helping shape research in the growing field of developmental communication disorders.
Articles, reports and reviews focusing on the education of students with emotional and behavioral disorders.
Analysis & commentary on issues, points to new directions & ways of thinking about behavior of children & adolescents in our schools. Research on practice in schools. Support to those who work with children & youth with emothional & behavioral probl
Borderline Personality Disorder and Emotion Dysregulation
provides a platform for researchers and clinicians interested in borderline personality disorder (BPD) as a currently highly challenging psychiatric disorder.
Current Developmental Disorders Reports
What makes the journal unique is its focus on not one but a host of major disorders, ranging from autism, ADHD, and Tourette’s syndrome, to motor disorders such as cerebral palsy and developmental coordination disorder, through to language and reading disorders such as developmental dyslexia.
More journals on Psychological Health Disorders:
The journal is dedicated to publishing scientific and clinical literature on dissociation, the dissociative disorders, posttraumatic stress disorder, complex PTSD, psychological trauma, and attachment disturbances, in order to foster exchange among researchers, clinicians and other professionals.
Publishes papers concerned with affective disorders in the widest sense: depression, mania, mood spectrum, emotions and personality, anxiety and stress.
an interdisciplinary journal that publishes research papers dealing with all aspects of anxiety disorders for all age groups (child, adolescent, adult and geriatric).
The Journal of Attention Disorders is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering the field of psychiatry and attention disorders.
Original research, theoretical papers, critical reviews and brief reports on severe psychopathologies in childhood, not necessarily limited to autism and childhood schizophrenia.
Focuses on behavioral addictions, including gambling, sex, video games and others.
The latest research, theory, and practical applications on helping to prevent and treat children suffering from traumatic symptoms and disorders.
Examines the latest research in the co-occurrence of mental health disorders & substance abuse disorders.
Articles, review articles and commentary on research and practice for professionals that serve individuals with emotional and behavioral disorders.
Peer-reviewed journal that provides a medium for the exchange of best practice, knowledge and research between academic and professional disciplines from education, social and health settings to bring about advancement of services for people with intellectual and learning disabilities.
an international journal that publishes high quality research and clinically-oriented articles dealing with all aspects of obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and related conditions (OC spectrum disorders; e.g., trichotillomania, hoarding, body dysmorphic disorder).
The journal publishes articles on research investigations that enhance understanding of psychopathology and mental disorders applicable to all ages, deviant or abnormal behaviors, including those related to medical conditions and trauma, and constructs descriptive of personality.
Dedicated to publishing peer-reviewed scientific literature on psychological trauma, dissociation & traumatic memory in children & adults.
publishes high quality empirical articles and reviews that contribute to a better understanding of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) at all levels of description; genetic, neurobiological, cognitive, and behavioral.
publish scientific articles that can contribute to the advancement of knowledge in clinical practice and theory in psychopathology, focusing on psychic suffering and subjectivity.
Peer-reviewed coverage of recent developments and empirically based hypotheses regarding the etiology and treatment of schizophrenia.
Analyses of Social Issues and Public Policy
An outlet for psychological and social science scholarship with implications for social action and policy.
Psychoanalysis, Culture & Society
Publishes works that employ psychoanalytic theories, concepts to address the psychological roots or consequences of social & cultural phenomena in such a way as to promote beneficial social change.
Journal of Social and Clinical Psychology
Promotes communication & scholarship at the interface of social & clinical psychology. Features reports of clinincal & empirical research on various topics.
Journal of Social and Personal Relationships
Features empirical and theoretical papers on social and personal relationships.
International Journal of Social Psychiatry
Original articles in the fields of social and community psychiatry and in related topics aimed at professionals in the field.
More journals on Social Psychology:
Open to all scientific methodologies, quantitative and qualitative as well as to established and innovative conceptual and theoretical perspectives in the psychology of religion.
Covers social cognition, attitudes, group processes, social influence, intergroup relations, self and identity, nonverbal communication, and social psychological aspects of affect and emotion, and of language and discourse.
Devoted to the psychological studies of religious processes and phenomena in all religious traditions.
Articles for the professional psychologist and allied social scientists concerned with research on the psychological aspects of important social issues, sponsored by the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues.
Articles on experimental, empirical and field studies of groups, cultural effects, cross-national problems, language and ethnicity, cross-cultural notes and briefly reported replications and refinements.
Aims to publish empirically-based work exploring the relationships between mental health & aspects of religion & culture. Also focuses on discussing conceptual & philosophical aspects.
Sections include: critical social psychology, emotion motivation, group/intergroup processes, intrapersonal & personality processes, race, ethnicity, culture, social cognition, social influence/interpersonal relationships.
Provides timely theoretical and empirical reviews of topics and research that directly relate to understanding and addressing social issues and public policy.
Journal of Health and Social Behavior
Articles that apply sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health, illness, and medicine in their social context.
Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health
Includes information pertaining to immigrant health from experts in the fields of public health, epidemiology, medicine and nursing, anthropology, sociology, population research, immigration law, and ethics.
Provides a comprehensive source of information on the causal relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease.
Includes original articles on the social, behavioral and health-related aspects of ageing and aims to contribute to the formulation of better policies and the development of better practice in serving older adults.
Provides an international scholarly forum for theoretical reflection & debate on contemporary health issues, many of which bear directly on the planning & delivery of services.
More journals on Medicine and Health:
Focuses on issues of concern to a wide variety of population groups with diverse ethnic backgrounds, including children and the elderly, men and women, and rural and urban communities.
Health & Justice presents original experimental research on the area of health and well-being of people involved in the adult or juvenile justice system, including people who work in it.
Focuses on the medical humanities and the social history of health.
Content ranges from translational research to prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and management of disease and illness toward the goal of optimal outcomes and ultimately health equity for all.
Covers the social processes which influence the ways in which risks are taken, communicated, assessed, & managed in relationship to health & health care.
Explores the contribution of sociology & sociological research methods to the understanding of health & illness; health policy, promotion & practice; equity, social justice, social policy & social work.
Covers all fields of the social aspects of HIV/AIDS including care, support, counseling, discrimination, prevention, treatment, structural and environmental intervention, financing, policy and media.
Peer reviewed international sociological coverage of all aspects of health, illness and medicine, with a focus on empirical, qualitative research.
International Journal of Social Welfare
Peer-reviewed interdisciplinary coverage of social forces of a global nature, such as demographic trends, migration patterns, & the globalization of the economy, & how these forces shape social welfare policies & social work practices worldwide.
The journal aims to advance theoretical understanding, shape policy, and inform practice, and welcomes submissions from all areas of social work.
Articles, commentary and review articles advancing the theory, research and practice of counseling with couples and families from a family systems perspective.
Presents articles dealing with all aspects of health of professional concern to social workers, improving social work practice and extending knowledge in the field of health.
This crucial journal focuses on all aspects of policy and social and health care considerations in policy-related matters, including its development, formulation, implementation, evaluation, review, and revision.
More journals on Social Work:
Provides a wide variety of field research, sage retrospection & helpful looks ahead-a true wellspring of practical & useable wisdom you can take with you & use every day.
Provides a unique forum for the application of current understanding of unconscious processes to social work practice with individuals, couples, families & other caretakers.
Covers qualitative research and evaluation and in qualitative approaches to practice.
Publishes empirical research concerning the methods and outcomes of social work practice.
Search Browzine for more journals on the following subjects:
Includes health psychology, cross cultural psychology and diversity, community psychology, etc...
Includes clinical and medical social work, health and mental health, poverty and homelessness, etc...
Includes culture and social structure, gender and sexuality, inequality and stratification, etc...
Use the ATSU Online Journal Index to browse and search for all journals in the Library collection.
1. Visit the ATSU Library homepage at www.atsu.edu/library
2. Select Databases, located under Discovery Tools.
3. Select ATSU Online Journal Index under Popular & Core Databases.
4. Search by journal title, subject, or issn/isbn
Journal of Cultural Diversity
Asian Ethnicity
Asian Medicine
Gender and Education
Journal of Gender Studies
Sexuality and Disability
Culture, Health & Sexuality
Journal of Sex Research
Women in Higher Education
Women's Studies
Journal of Women & Aging 
Feminist Studies
Journal of Loss and Trauma
Behavioral Disorders
Beyond Behavior
Ethnicity and Disease
European Journal of Aging
Social Theory & Health
Journal of Social Work
The Family Journal
Health & Social Work
Social Work in Public Health